— OST by Nicklas Schmidt



1. Old Astrid (03:04)
2. Astrid doing Her Chores (01:25)
3. Walking to the Interview (00:47)
4. Becoming a Reporter (02:06)
5. Potato Field (00:54)
6. Haircut (02:14)
7. My Bedroom (01:35)
8. Listening on the Stairs (01:09)
9. To Stockholm (02:07)
10. Journey to Denmark (01:48)
11. Birth (01:13)
12. On the other Side (05:58)
13. Leaving Blomberg (03:40)
14. Departure from Lasse (01:47)
15. Despair (02:19)
16. All Different Trains (01:54)
17. Goodbye to Marie (02:33)
18. Blackberries (01:38)
19. Storytelling in Bed (01:48)
20. I’m Your Grandpa (01:49)
21. Together at Church (01:53)
22. Goodbye to Marie (Alternative Version) (02:35)
23. In the Rain (00:53)


Winner of the 2017 Carl Prisen Award and double nominee for the 2017 Jerry Goldsmith Awards, Nicklas has written the score for a number of feature films, documentaries, video games and TV series, earning international awardsnominations and several world premieres at film festivals such as the Berlin Film Festival.
Nicklas worked as arranger and orchestrator on the Golden Globe winning and Oscar nominated score for “The Theory of Everything” written by Jóhann Johánnsson.
His scores have been recorded with The Danish National Symphony Orchestra (The Great Bear), The Brussels Philharmonic (Finding Home), The Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra (Beyond Beyond), The Malmö Symphony Orchestra(Zombiehagen), The Budapest Art Orchestra (A Conspiracy of FaithThe Arctic Giant & Klassefesten 2) and The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra (All I want for Christmas, Ronal the BarbarianZoomers).


Becoming Astrid is Danish director Pernille Fischer-Christensen's new feature film presented at the Berlin International Film Festival in 2018. It tells the story of Astrid Lindgren who became a young single mother, and this combination of both miracle and calamity came to shape her entire life. It was an event that transformed her into one of the most inspiring women of our age and the storyteller a whole world would come to love.


Nicklas Schmidt about his collaboration with the director:

"Pernille Fischer-Christensen is an amazing creative force. Working with her has been a big inspiration and a rewarding creative process. Pernille is adamant about the use of music and knows very much what she wants, and why music is needed in a certain scene. While watching the film, you might want to cut out roughly 30 minutes at first sight – because many of the moments linger and are stretched. But they are exactly the reason why the film finds its emotional impact, and often these moments, where we stay with the characters for quite a while, the music plays a central role in the storytelling and the emotional drama."

"We had established from the beginning that although the film is about a writer of children books with fabulous subjects, there is nothing magical or adventurous about the score.
The score is centered around a setup with a large orchestral string ensemble, a string quartet, the piano, a harp, and some carefully chosen doses of church organ.
The main character of the film, young Astrid Lindgren, is always present and a 
very strong emotional source. The score had to be in constant touch with her inner development, so the musicians are often asked to play with almost no vibrato and at very soft and fragile dynamics – especially when only the string quartet is playing. At other times the music tags onto the ride, and enhances the energy and passion contained in the young protagonist."

Pernille Fischer-Christensen about her collaboration with Nicklas Schmidt:

Nicklas Schmidt created a score of true beauty. He can keep his head cool under pressure, he is obviously gifted. Nicklas can also structure a great amount of material, receive notes and turn them into music, he has a great sense of melody and a flair for what scene, character and emotions needs. He even knows when to let silence speak.